First Impressions

Well, it has been roughly three weeks since I arrived here in Korea, and I finally feel like I’m settling in and ready to talk about the process.   I’m not going to do a whole “This is Korea” article right now, and I”ll touch on things like teaching here, the food, and the couple of small trips I’ve already made at a later date (I’m going to do my best to update this blog weekly).

So, I got into the provincial capital of Busan on August 31st and stayed a night in one of the nicer “not a hotel” hotels I’ve ever been in, mostly spending my time getting lost looking for the subway, verifying there were Coke products in Korea, and sleeping off a wicked jetlag.  The next morning I was whisked to the regional capital of Changwon for paperwork and a couple hours later was heading off with my newly met co-teacher, Miss Tak, to my home for the next year, Tongyeong.

The are is gorgeous, but rather than try and do it justice with words, I’ll show you some pictures:

I was lucky enough to meet the man who I was replacing, a Canadian who had been here for six years.  Consequently I hit the jackpot with the apartment I was left.  It is small, but fully furnished, right down to a couple month’s supply of toilet paper rolls.  I even have a leather couch, although it’s mostly just in the way at the moment.  I”ll do the photo tour at a later date, but the upshot is I’m quite comfortable and got to avoid the frenzied buying a lot of other teachers must do when they first arrive.

I’m on the third floor

As for my job, I’m teaching at an all-boys middle school, which here translates to boys ranging from 13-16 years old, which can be… a challenge.  Some of them are nearly functionally fluent already, while others don’t appear to know a word.  I’m building a curriculum right now, but it’s going to be a process, and I have a whole lot to learn about teaching here.  I also teach at a smaller rural school on Wednesdays, which is a nice relief from the city.

Which is also in a pretty gorgeous area

Well, that’s about what I have for now, but next week I’ll touch on a couple of ferry trips I’ve taken to the surrounding islands as well as a potential trip out of town that’s due up this weekend.

About zijerem

I spent two years neglecting my Peace Corps blog in Peru (zachinperu.blogspot.com) and now I've relocated to Korea (teaching English) and promise to get off my ass and write something every once in awhile...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

